Sunshine Slivers

featured on Thought Catalog

I slash sunshine slivers into my skin

and watch rays filter through

Dandelions layer and latch until the slits of light

dry of their golden ichor-

honey drops that leave a sticky trail sliding over my wrist,

past my fingertips

The syrupy sugar drips onto my tongue and I fall into a field of dreams

I slashed sunshine slivers into my skin

and the gentle light has been eclipsed by moonlight

Raised silver veins that reach across tightly stretched skin and bones

Golden light and silver shadows live as live wires within me,

every glance a sobering shock, painful memories and

numbing ecstasy

 

Leave a Reply

