I Drown Out Thoughts Of You In Summer

photo courtesy of Julia Caesar

When I wake up in summer

I feel dry heat,

Like sweet breath,

Brush my skin.

 

I crave the freedom that comes

With the suns drunken glare

And the sharpness

Of salt water.

 

In summer,

I am reborn.

With the kind of wings

And dreams

And courage

That defy the odds.

 

The kind that proves that

Anything is possible.

 

The average becomes scintillating,

Honey dotted on collarbones.

 

And the extraordinary

Becomes intoxicating

Swollen lips and chardonnay.

 

Ribbons of roses

Lace through the piercings in my ears

And through the braids in my hair.

 

The beating of butterfly wings

Echoes in my ears–

Like cool water,

They drown out thoughts

Of you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

